Skip to Content

Is Coffee Creamer Gluten Free? Best Brands + Recipes!

Save This Recipe!

Do you start your day with a cup of joe and find yourself wondering, “Is coffee creamer gluten free?

If you have celiac disease or a gluten intolerance, you need to be aware that some coffee creamers may contain hidden sources of gluten, even if they aren’t labeled as such.

In this article, we’ll explore the connection between coffee creamers and gluten and offer practical tips for choosing a gluten free creamer that’s both delicious and safe.

So grab a mug of your favorite brew and read on to learn more!

Is Coffee Gluten Free?

Brewed plain coffee beans are gluten-free and safe for someone with celiac disease or a gluten intolerance to consume.

Ingredients added to your coffee such as creamers, syrups, and artificial flavor, may contain gluten so it’s important to read labels and check menus carefully if you’re grabbing a cup to go.

Some flavored coffees (mocha, peppermint, etc.) contain added ingredients and may not be gluten free, so be sure to check the labels.

If you have celiac disease or are otherwise sensitive to cross contact, you’ll also need to be aware of how your favorite coffee shop prepares your order.

WAIT! Don’t lose this post! Save this image on Pinterest

Pinterest image: Are coffee creamers gluten free? What you need to know.

Is Coffee Creamer Gluten Free?

Cream and sugar are naturally gluten free, so most coffee creamers are also naturally gluten free.

However, some coffee creamers contain additives in the form of thickeners or flavorings that contain gluten and are therefore unsafe for someone on a gluten-free diet.

It is important to know what ingredients to look for on labels so you can safely enjoy your favorite cup of joe.

Psst! Why not serve your morning cup of coffee alongside one of my delicious breakfast recipes like Gluten Free Blueberry Biscuits or Gluten Free Cinnamon Rolls?

Reading Labels: How to Avoid Gluten in Coffee Creamers

Wheat, Barley, and Rye and How They Hide

Gluten is a protein found primarily in wheat, rye, and barley. Because wheat is one of the top 9 allergens in the USA, it is required to be listed on the label if it is present.

Barley and rye are not required to be included on food labels. I have yet to see a coffee creamer that contains rye, but barley can be sneaky and appear in the form of “malt” or “malt syrup” so be aware of that.

2 wooden bowls and a wooden spoonful are filled with oats and sitting on top of a blue textured background. There is a handful of oats scattered by the spoon, and a pair of hands hold a white mug of coffee with a white foam heart on top. The text says: Oats in creamer when you're gluten free: what you need to know"

Oats in Coffee Creamer: What You Need to Know

With the increasing popularity of oat-based milks and creamers, it is important to be aware of the risks associated there as well.

While oats are naturally gluten free, they are often cross contaminated with wheat in the growing, harvesting, and/or packaging process.

If you choose an oat-based creamer, make sure that it is certified gluten free or you know that the brand uses purity protocol oats, a system of ensuring that the oats are grown, harvested, and packaged separately from any other gluten-containing grains.

If you can’t find this info on the label, just give the brand a call or send them a message on social media or via a contact form from their website.

You know what else tastes great with a cup of your favorite hot drink? Cookies! Coffee pairs so well with my Chewy Gluten Free Pumpkin Cookies or Gluten Free Nutter Butter Cookies

Which Coffee Creamer is Gluten-Free?

As stated previously, most coffee creamers are naturally gluten free and safe to consume. Here are a few gluten free options I’ve found, but remember to always do your own research and check the product label every time you buy, as products can change without notice.

Gluten Free Coffee Creamer Brands

International Delight is a popular brand of creamer that is available in most stores. On the FAQ page of their website, they state that none of their products contain gluten. The Caramel Macchiato flavor is my fav.

Their oat-based products are not certified gluten free and they don’t share any info on their sourcing, so I would choose one of the non-dairy options in the section below.

Coffee Mate Natural Bliss creamers are labeled gluten free on their website. I’m not sure of their sourcing for oats in the plant-based blends, but their oat milk lists wheat as an allergen in the ingredients list.

Original Coffee Mate and their other dairy-based liquid creamers are gluten free according to their website. Coffee Mate does come in an oat-based dairy free variety, but it is not certified gluten free and they don’t list their sourcing, so I would deem it unsafe for celiacs.

Does Half and Half Creamer Have Gluten?

Half and half creamer in its natural state does not contain gluten and is therefore safe for those with celiac disease or a gluten intolerance.

Likewise, heavy cream with no added flavors is gluten free.

Non-Dairy Coffee Creamer

Elmhurst creamers are all gluten free and dairy free. According to their website, “All our products made with oats are Certified Gluten-Free and made with Purity Protocol grown oats.” I love companies like this!

Nut Pods makes non-dairy creamer that also has 0 total sugars, making it a great option for those watching their carbs. My favorite flavor is the caramel-flavored almond milk + coconut milk.

Silk creamers are all dairy free, but be aware that according to their FAQ page, their Oat-Yeah oat-based products are not gluten free.

Oatly does not make coffee creamer, but they do have a barista edition of their oatmilk, which is certified gluten free.

A mug off coffee sits on a black slate background. Next to it is a white pitcher full of creamer and a scattering of coffee beans

Homemade Coffee Creamer Recipe

Want to make your own gluten-free coffee creamer? Be your own barista and whip up an easy batch of gluten-free coffee creamer!

Homemade Coffee Creamer Recipe

  • 1 3/4 cup half and half (you can use whole milk in a pinch)
  • 14 ounce can sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla

Combine ingredients in a blender and blend about a minute until smooth. You can also use a whisk, but it will take a little longer.

Store in a jar with a lid in the fridge for up to a week, or you can freeze for a month.

PRO TIP: Pour the coffee creamer into an ice cube tray and freeze until solid. Once it’s frozen solid be sure to cover it or (quickly) transfer to an airtight container or freezer bag. This makes it super easy to pull out exactly what you need every time you brew a cup of coffee, without worrying about your creamer going bad.

Dairy Free Coffee Creamer Recipe (cashew based)

  • 1 cup raw cashews
  • 1 cup water (plus extra for soaking)
  • 2 pitted medjool dates
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • salt to taste

Soak cashews and dates in 2-3 cups water for at least 4 hours or overnight. Drain and rinse.

Combine soaked cashews/dates with 1 cup water, vanilla, and a dash of salt in a blender and blend about a minute until smooth.

Taste and add additional salt if you want.

Store in a jar with a lid in the fridge for 4-5 days, or you can freeze in an ice cube tray for up to a month.

PRO TIP: If you like a sweeter coffee creamer, feel free to use an extra date or add a tablespoon or two of sugar.

Dairy Free Coffee Creamer Recipe (coconut based)

  • 14 ounce can full-fat coconut milk
  • 11.25 ounce can sweetened condensed coconut milk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • dash salt

Combine ingredients in a blender and blend about a minute until smooth. You can also use a whisk, but it will take a little longer.

Store in a jar with a lid in the fridge for up to a week, or you can freeze in an ice cube tray for a month.

Save This Recipe!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.